Week In Review (Week 4, 1/20-1/27)

I’ve decided to make a slight change to this Week-In Review series by simply adding “favorite songs of the week” to it. This way, even if I work on the same book all week or play the same game without finishing either, I’ll still have something to write down and share with you. Therefore, this week will be mostly music as it has been the most prominent element of my past week.

Screen Shot 2019-01-26 at 2.36.04 PM.png

Community (Season One)

Sometimes, it’s hard to decide what to watch. There are a lot of options, and some of them may be disappointing. In those moments, it’s nice to return to a show that you know you love especially if you haven’t seen the show in a couple of years. Community is one of my favorite shows and being able to watch it anytime via streaming is so comforting. It’s self-referential, hilarious, unique, and wholly enjoyable. The writing, directing, and cast are all superb and equally allow this show to be as great as it is. Dan Harmon and Co. can do no wrong. #SixSeasonsandaMovie

screen shot 2019-01-26 at 2.45.48 pm

Bulletstorm: Full Clip Edition

One of my favorite games that I’ve played in the last year or so has been Far Cry: Blood Dragon. For me, it was just the perfect game as it was action-packed and fun, yes, but also because it was a love-letter to 80’s science fiction films. It was jam-packed with direct and indirect references to classics such as Terminator, Alien, RoboCop (?), Running Man, etc., and I just ate it up. Blood Dragon is to 80’s scifi as Bulletstorm is to 90’s scifi. It’s loud, dumb, cheesy, and relentlessly entertaining. It has the perfect balance of not taking itself seriously while still delivering one hell of a fun time that’s quite unlike most other FPS’s that you could get your hands on.

Screen Shot 2019-01-27 at 2.14.22 PM.png

Wolfenstein: The New Order

To be entirely honest, it took me around 4 attempts to become invested in this game. I played the first hour a few weeks ago, then stopped. Then, I picked it up again for a bit, and stopped. Finally, I just buckled down and got through it and am quite glad that I did. I sort of expecting something closer to 2016’s Doom as far as reliance on style over substance but this game was highly story driven. The narrative was more prominent and important than the gameplay was and while gameplay was still a positive experience, I found myself wanting more cutscenes than anything else. Weird right? Either way, this is a game that you shouldn’t skip out on or, if you’re like me, should keep playing until you’re invested.

Music

Here are the songs that I found myself listening to the most this week (Alphabetized to avoid ranking them arbitrarily)

  • “Alienate” by Enemy AC130 Above feat. Hayden Valentine
  • “Flower” by Vanna
  • “Ghost” by Ryan Cavareo
  • “Hollow” by Favorite Weapon
  • “Legend Has It” by Run the Jewels
  • “Ocean Eyes” by Billie Eilish, Astronomyy
  • “See Through Me” by Orbit Culture
  • “Terrible Things” by Mayday Parade
  • “Thank God It’s Friday” by Ice Nine Kills
  • “Waves” by Dean Lewis

 

Well, that’s been my week in entertainment. I’m hoping that I get through Community Seasons Two and Three, and play through Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus before moving onto some third-person high-fantasy action games like Hellblade, Middle-Earth, The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt, and Bloodborne over the next few weeks. Stay tuned! Also, if you want to see some actual long-form reviews, let me know as that’s something I have a lot of interest in doing.

 

Published by Blake Carson Schwarz

Indiana University graduate in Media and Creative Writing. I love to write my own stories as well as experience the work of others. On this site, I post reviews, essays, and other fun posts that I hope you have as much fun reading and I have writing. Please share any comments you have, I'd be happy to hear what you think! *Never a critic, always a fan*

Leave a comment