My 2018 In Review

2018 was a great year for me: I graduated from college, moved across the States, and expanded my entertainment horizons. Instead of just focusing on movies, I decided to divert much of my attention towards shows, games, music, and books as well, which have really made an impact on my life as a whole. I started to look at movies the same way I look at songs, games, shows, and books by ignoring the release date and focusing on what I think I’ll enjoy — plain and simple. So, this year my list has changed a bit: it was not a struggle to fit 10 amazing films into one list because I only saw about 10 2018 films that would even be worthy to fit into a “best of” conversation.

But since time is largely relative and we just throw numbers around to make sense of things, my Best Of list is also subjective: I simply put things on this list based on if they made me think, made me feel, or made me happy – regardless of release date. The art released in 2018 is among all the others (in bold, in case you’re curious), but the one rule for this list is that 2018 has to be the year that I first experienced these things, even if they’re 300 years old, they’re new to me.

So, without further ado… the best parts of the world, as I saw it during 2018:

Movies

  • A Quiet Place
  • Avengers: Infinity War
  • BlackkKlansman
  • Black Panther
  • Blockers
  • Deadpool 2
  • Game Night
  • Love, Simon
  • Melancholia
  • Mission: Impossible – Fallout
  • Paddington 2
  • Ready Player One
  • Searching
  • Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse
  • The Florida Project
  • Upgrade

TV Seasons

  • Big Little Lies
  • Black Mirror Season 3
  • Love Season 3
  • New Girl Season 1
  • New Girl Season 2
  • New Girl Season 3
  • New Girl Season 4
  • New Girl Season 5
  • New Girl Season 6
  • New Girl Season 7
  • Over the Garden Wall
  • Riverdale Season 1
  • Riverdale Season 2
  • The Haunting of Hill House

Games

  • Abzu
  • Bioshock
  • Bioshock 2
  • Bioshock Infinite
  • Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons
  • Celeste
  • Doom (2016)
  • Far Cry 5
  • Flow
  • God of War
  • Horizon Zero Dawn
  • Horizon Zero Dawn: The Frozen Wilds
  • Killzone 2
  • Max Payne
  • Max Payne 2
  • Need for Speed: Rivals
  • Red Dead Redemption II
  • Rise of the Tomb Raider
  • Spider-Man
  • Spider-Man: The City That Never Sleeps
  • Uncharted: The Lost Legacy
  • Unravel
  • Unravel Two
  • Until Dawn

Songs

  • 621 (Omar LinX)
  • A Grave Mistake (Ice Nine Kills)
  • A Reason (TheCityIsOurs)
  • Ammunition (Krewella)
  • Beautiful (Asap Noa, Olivia Floyd)
  • Black (Nowhere)
  • Body on Fire (Slaves)
  • Celebrate (Dirty Heads, The Unlikely Candidates)
  • Chapter Twelve: Shores, and the New World (Levi the Poet)
  • Coloring (Kevin Garrett)
  • Devil Like Me (Rainbow Kitten Surprise)
  • Disposable Fix (The Plot In You)
  • Dreamcatcher (Night Argent)
  • Eiley (Too Close to Touch)
  • Exp (Versus Me)
  • f*ckboi (gianni, kyle)
  • Feel Nothing (The Plot in You)
  • Flare Guns (Quinn XCII)
  • Freeverse (Ekoh)
  • Friends (Chase Atlantic)
  • Gentlemen (A Boy Named John)
  • Ghost (Ryan Caraveo)
  • Ghosts (Lukr)
  • Gravity (Wage War)
  • Happier (Marshmello, Bastille, Frank Walker)
  • Heart of Stone (Northern Ghost)
  • Hell (Olivver the Kid)
  • Holdfast (Monument of A Memory)
  • I Wanna Know (RL Grime)
  • I’d Rather See Your Stars Explode (Slaves)
  • Jericho (Sleep Token)
  • Johnny Cash Stripped (Wage War)
  • Juggernaut (Smile on the Sinner)
  • Kaleidoscope (Machine Head)
  • Legend Has It (Run the Jewels)
  • Let It Go (The Plot In You)
  • Lowland Hum (Out Came the Wolves)
  • Madame La Mort (newhaven)
  • Make It Hurt (Sworn In)
  • Memories (XXI)
  • Mine (Bazzi)
  • Nerve (Myka Relocate)
  • New Plagues (Like Moths to Flames)
  • Nowadays (Valleyheart)
  • Ocean Eyes (Billie Eilish, Astronomyy)
  • Penance (Holding Absence)
  • Piece of Sh*t (Cemetary Sun)
  • Place to Start (Mike Shinoda)
  • Radio Songs (Trade Wind)
  • React/Regret (A Feast for Kings)
  • Save That Sh*t Rock (Cremona Romance)
  • See Through Me (Orbit Culture)
  • Self Ownership (BackWordz)
  • Silence (Marshmello, Khalid)
  • Slow Hands (Niall Horan)
  • Sorry (Halsey)
  • Starlight (Jai Wolf)
  • Stay (Dream on Dreamer)
  • Story of My Life (The March Ahead)
  • Stranger Things (Joyner Lucas)
  • Sunflower Seeds (Bryce Vine)
  • Sunseeker (In Vise Versa)
  • Symphony (Zeds Dead)
  • Thank God It’s Friday (Ice Nine Kills)
  • The Feeling (Wind Walkers)
  • The Middle (Zedd, Maren Morris, Grey)
  • The Pact (Slaves)
  • Two Shots (Goody Grace, gnash)
  • Verbatim (blackbear)
  • Waves (Dean Lewis)
  • What Do I Say (Landon Tewers, Seanzy)
  • Who I’ll Be (Venatici)
  • Who Would’ve Thought (CryJaxx)
  • Worthless – No Purpose (Ocean Sleeper)
  • yes girl (Bea Miller)

 

 

Published by Blake Carson Schwarz

Indiana University graduate in Media and Creative Writing. I love to write my own stories as well as experience the work of others. On this site, I post reviews, essays, and other fun posts that I hope you have as much fun reading and I have writing. Please share any comments you have, I'd be happy to hear what you think! *Never a critic, always a fan*

Leave a comment