July 2017 Blockbuster Preview

With Summer 2017 now in full swing, let’s go ahead and take a look at what July has to offer in terms of blockbuster releases. For this week’s Movie Fight, I’m going to compare and contrast the marketing and, dare I say, “hype” for two of the bigger releases, and I’ve left out Valerian and Dunkirk as the former wouldn’t hold up in this competition and the latter would sweep the results, so let’s get this started!

First off, we have Spider-Man: Homecoming which is going to be released on July 7th and will mark Spider-Man’s first movie at Marvel since they sold the rights back in the 1990’s to stay afloat. Sony has made 5 Spider-Man movies with varying degrees of appreciation and success but the deal they made with Marvel looks to be one of the smartest moves by both studios. Homecoming doesn’t only mark Spidey’s homecoming to the MCU, but also paves the way for much more to be made in terms of superhero films between Sony and Marvel. This film is a gigantic step forward in a lot of ways and showing that two studios can work together to service fans is a beautiful idea. However, Sony has been marketing this movie to high heaven to make up for the fact that their last two weren’t very good… so they are trying their hardest to market this as an Avengers movie instead of an Amazing Spider-Man film. Because of that, a LOT of footage has been shown and much of the audience is left with a “I feel like I’ve seen the whole movie” sort of vibe. That being said, everything that we have seen has been marvelous and I can’t wait to see what happens moving forward.

On the other hand we have War for the Planet of the Apes, which is another continuation of a rebooted franchise, but this one has not been marketed nearly as much. That’s a great thing. Rise of the Planet of the Apes back in 2011 was the surprise hit starring James Franco and Andy Serkis and acted as a prequel to the original series until it’s sequel, Dawn, came out in 2014. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes was an absolutely glorious film with an amazing cast and breathtaking story. The visuals were impeccable and the entire movie was near perfection. Rise and Dawn have only kept surprising and to see what happens in War is going to be epic. I don’t know whether the end of this trilogy will tie into the classics but it doesn’t matter one bit either way. What we have with this trilogy is unbelievable and to me, it ranks alongside the Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, Dark Knight, Toy Story or Captain America trilogies as some of the best of all time, and ones that debatably get better as they go. War for the Planet of the Apes hasn’t shown us much at all and everything has been exactly what I’ve been dying to see. I cannot deny that Apes is not only my most anticipated film of July, but it stands next to The Last Jedi as my most anticipated of the rest of the year. I cannot wait to see this film take people’s breath away just as it’s predecessors has.

Which film are you looking forward to more? Let me know! Comment on my instagram page to join in the Movie Fight and have your vote be counted to decide the winner! As always, thanks for reading and I’ll see you soon!

Published by Blake Carson Schwarz

Indiana University graduate in Media and Creative Writing. I love to write my own stories as well as experience the work of others. On this site, I post reviews, essays, and other fun posts that I hope you have as much fun reading and I have writing. Please share any comments you have, I'd be happy to hear what you think! *Never a critic, always a fan*

Leave a comment