Top 5: Most Anticipated of 2017

Since 2016 cinema is coming to a close (aside from the dozen or so that have yet to expand from their limited release), this week we’re taking a look in to the upcoming year and discussing which films we’re looking forward to most. This Top 5 Friday category was chosen by myself; to be the person who chooses next week’s and gets a shout out/plug on the post, be the first to comment your choices on my Instagram post! Without further adieu, let’s get this show on the road!

Note: I’ve left off Star Wars: Episode VIII because it’s Star Wars, and it’s probably going to be the #1 pick on most everybody’s list (including mine) and I wouldn’t have much to say about it that hasn’t already been said, so I chose 5 different films instead!

5) Kong: Skull IslandThe reason that I’m looking forward to this film is because 2005’s King Kong was the film that got me into movies in the first place and made me look at films as more than just entertainment, but art (read my post about that here). From that point on, movies were much more passion than past time and I have Peter Jackson to thank for that. With this film, the studio is bringing Kong to mainstream audiences, and preparing to pit him against Godzilla in the upcoming film Godzilla vs KongI’m mostly excited about this film because they’re doing something original, unique, and exciting in making it more of a war film a la Apocalypse Now instead of just being an adventure film. Director Jordan Vogt-Roberts knows how to tell a story about characters, and I hope that the movie makes an emphasis on that element, instead of just being about action. We shall see, however, how the film turns out in March!

4) Beauty and the BeastThe original animated film is one of my all-time favorite movies, periods. The art, music, and story are all beautiful and this new live action remake seems like it’s going to recapture that experience perfectly. Moreover, the casting looks to be perfect, with Emma Watson being an excellent choice for Belle, and the Beast looking beastly as well as beautiful just as he should. I think this will be an incredible adaptation as all aspects of the original have the potential to be improved, and this will definitely be a more exciting film with more action, and the same amount of endearing romance. I, and the rest of the Disney-loving world cannot wait to be swept off my feet by Bill Condon‘s upcoming film.

3) Thor: RagnarokYes, this film beats out Justice League, Wonder Woman, Spider-Man: Homecoming and Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 as my most anticipated superhero film of the year for multiple reasons, the first being we didn’t see Thor or Hulk in Civil Warso I’m interested in seeing what they are up to. Secondly, they fight each other in this film in a gladiator-type battle. Thirdly, Doctor Strange is in it as well, and Doctor Strange was my favorite superhero film of 2016. Fourth, this movie is going to do a lot to set up Avengers: Infinity Warand I think there will be huge consequences for the rest of the Cinematic Universe after the events of this film. So, yes, this film is going to kick a lot of ass and I cannot wait to see what all happens in the film.

2) Alien: CovenantI’ve had a strong connection to the Alien films since I was 11 years old, at which point I watched Aliens and had one of the best movie experiences of my life; t scared the hell out of me, but I knew at that moment that it would be a long time until I saw a movie better than that one. With this film, director Ridley Scott returns to his roots after Prometheus to deliver us a terrifying space story that looks to have the actual xenomorph alien in it from the classic films. As somebody who liked Prometheus, I’m excited to see how this film bridges the two together and allows them to connect as Alien films rather than just two sci-fi films with an Easter Egg at the end of one of them. Furthermore, this film looks like it could be the scariest film of the year, which will be good to see back in the Alien franchise.

1) War for the Planet of the ApesThis film marks the third, and perhaps final film in the new Planet of the Apes series. Rise of the Planet of the Apes was praised for its rich story, pristine effects, and CG lead character played by Andy Serkis who stole the show. It’s sequel, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, was one of the highest rated films of 2014, and one of the most underappreciated as it flew under many people’s radars, yet is one of the greatest sequels in recent memory. War looks to up the ante in every way, bringing the ape/human conflict into it’s most exciting and destructive point yet. The stakes will be extremely high, and I expect that by the end of the film, we’ll have a winning species and a losing species… and I have a guess as to which it will be. If this film wants to set up the original films, that’s certainly a possibility, but if this film wants to end and be it’s own thing, then I’d respect that as well.

Well, that’s my list; what are yours? Any films you’re looking forward to in 2017? I’d love to hear your thoughts! As always, thanks for reading, comment your thoughts, and I’ll see you soon!

Published by Blake Carson Schwarz

Indiana University graduate in Media and Creative Writing. I love to write my own stories as well as experience the work of others. On this site, I post reviews, essays, and other fun posts that I hope you have as much fun reading and I have writing. Please share any comments you have, I'd be happy to hear what you think! *Never a critic, always a fan*

Leave a comment